Heritage Homes and Buildings - 182 Main Road, Blacksmith's Shop
May 26, 2022
From the late 1880’s, 182 Main Rd Waikouaiti was a blacksmith’s shop.

It was first run by William McDougall Snr and then by his sons who made cartwheels and farm gates, and forged shoes and ironware for the community. In 1958 the blacksmith shop was closed when Harry retired and the building was demolished. When Wilf Kerr purchased the site he put up the current building which was divided into three premises; a tea rooms, video shop and TAB. Since then different owners have made changes and it is now a dedicated cafe and restaurant.


Waikouaiti has always had a close association with the Central Otago Goldrush of the 1860's which began with the discovery of the precious metal on the 25th of May 1861 by Gabriel Read. Waikouaiti witnessed thousands of hopeful prospectors make their way up Beach Street on their hazardous journey North to Tuapeka. The then very young settlement of Dunedin (founded 1848) reaped many of the benefits, for a period becoming New Zealand largest town. Many of the city's stately buildings date from this period of prosperity. New Zealand's first university, the University of Otago, was founded in 1869 with wealth derived from the goldfields. The current home to Waikouaiti's museum is a proud and significant building to its community. Built the same year as the University of Otago and designed by the prominent architect, Scottish born Robert Lawson, it began its career as a fortress BNZ Bank. With people and prosperity came the introduction of the iconic Cobb & Co Coach, which transported people and gold to and from Waikouaiti, Dunedin, the goldfields and back again. In the photo you see a coach parked outside The Golden Fleece hotel, across the road from the bank. A replica coach (built here in Waikouaiti) is installed a stones throw from the present day Golden Fleece and outside the old BNZ bank building. One of the Heritage Centre’s treasures, currently on display, is a large thick hide gold carry bag used by Waikouaiti's BNZ bank, along with a heavy lock from a strong box used to transport the gold bag on the coach to the bank.